top of page

Finishing the year strong

I finished my Security+ exam recently and after I had finished that certification I felt a little lost. I began feeling like my knowledge in theory is a bit higher than my technical ability and it has been bothering me because I became knowledgeable about the field through labs and real-life hacking and testing. I began to fall into the cycle of consuming rather than creating and spent a week watching videos on what to do in Cybersecurity and never taking action. This changed one night at work when our team began a project for a vendor regarding moving infrastructure to the cloud, I knew this was an opportunity I needed to capitalize on and instantly started asking my manager what I could do to get in the mix and get as hands-on as I could. That night I observed the cloud professionals at work and by the time I got home I was already researching everything I could about the cloud and how it relates to my profession (networking) and my hobby (security). I finished the Microsoft learn training for AZ-900 and continued doing independent research and any lab I could and here are some cool things I learned how to do!


In this snapshot, i learned how to create a web server on a VM in Microsoft Azure.

After this, I created a security rule and verified it works!


Other things I did were

-create a serverless function

-created resources

-created resource groups

-accessed my created web server via the internet.



After spending a week getting accustomed to how the cloud worked and the various services I could utilize in Microsoft Azure, I decided to hone my technical hacking skills for the following week, using HackTheBox to keep the hands-on ball rolling and I made quite some progress completing all of the free and paid entry-level rooms!

This led me to get interested in setting up a home lab so I started researching and I came across a very well-written and clearly explained video by MyDFIR on how to set up a home lab!


I plan to practice hacking my Windows VM with my Kali Linux VM and documenting what I break! I am so passionate about technology and eager to learn as much as I can but it's been an issue knowing where to direct my energy, I think for the upcoming year my goal will be to obtain a pen-testing certification (preferably one that costs less than 1500$), an Azure cloud associate certification and an Azure cloud security cert and going more in-depth with a scripting language such as python. My main focus in life right now is just to learn as much as possible about relevant tools and technology and I know eventually I will find a job that will be right for me! Thank you very much for taking the time to read my post about my journey and feel free to leave a message to chat, constructive criticism is always welcome!

Comments


bottom of page